Happy New Year!

Can you believe that 2011 is here?? We’ve been blogging for 2 years now, which seems crazy to me. It doesn’t feel like it has been that long!

My parents and youngest sis came to celebrate the New Year with us, and it was great having them here, although I felt kinda like a party pooper because I went to bed at 9:30pm on New Years Eve. Oh ya, life of the party over here! But one super exciting thing that happened on New Years Eve?

I felt P-Squared kick for the first time!

It was just like I remembered with Addy, small pop-pop-pops like popcorn low in my belly. I felt Addy’s first kicks when I was 16 weeks pregnant and since I know what sensation to expect, I’ve been playing close attention lately. I was laying on my back in bed, almost asleep, when I felt the first little flick. I texted Derek after I felt the second one and he came running in from the other room (he and Mikaela stayed up until midnight. Impressive, eh??) and waited to see if there were any more kicks. No more on New Years Eve, but I did feel another kick the next morning. I’d say that’s a pretty great way to start off 2011, in my opinion!!

We watched some old family movies, went on a family walk, played on the slides, did some reorganizing of our garage and pantry, and played some Chicken Foot. A nice, relaxing weekend before everyone had to get back to the daily grind. It’s always sad when the holidays are over and things go back to the way they were. Yesterday, Derek and I took down all the Christmas lights and decorations, so the house is looking pretty bare right now… What occasion should I decorate for next? Grounhog Day? Superbowl Sunday? So many options.

A few pictures:

One of Addy’s new Christmas dresses! (from a week ago…)

She likes to take her babydoll for walks.

Slides are always a hit with Addy.

Having fun on the slides with Auntie Mikaela!

Going on more walks.

Let’s see, what else. Addy has been sick for 5 or 6 days now and while she’s happy during the day, she gets stuffed up and pretty, well… phlegmy… at night. It reminds us of last Christmas and New Year when she had her first major cold/ear infection (7 mos old). That was pretty miserable for everyone because she was so little and sooo sick, and basically nobody got the sleep they needed. But look how cute she was!

In other news, we gave Addy her first hair cut on Sunday! She’s been rocking a mullet for the longest time now… you know, “business in the front, party in the back”. She had this one section of hair that was longer than all the others right at the back of her head (hair that was still around from when she was first born… she had a head full of hair, remember??)

My precious 1 week old daughter. I die from the cute!

Anway, we lopped that off and did some trimming around the rest of her head. It wasn’t easy, but it’s done. And now we have a lock of her hair for her baby book! She now looks “kept”, as my Mom put it. 🙂

That’s all for now. If you could please turn your attention to this face, Adelyn would just like to say “Thanks for sticking around and reading our blog!”

Look at these cheeks. Sept 2010.

Adelyn is 19 months, 1 week old and I am 15 weeks, 3 days pregnant.

One response

  1. Pingback: Monthly Update – 20 months « Our Little Blessings

Leave a Reply

