What’s up, Doc?

Addy went in for her 18 month well-child checkup last week. She is still a teeny tiny girl! My 18 month old weighs 19 lbs. Big time 1st percentile on that one. She’s getting longer though (31.5 inches long, putting her in the 41st percentile)! Doc says she looks great, she just needs to eat and eat and eat. Unfortunately, that’s easier said than done. You know that saying “You can lead a horse to water, but you can’t make it drink.”? Same goes for a toddler with food. Addy eats when she wants. End of story. And really, she does eat a decent amount. She’s just a petite little girl 🙂

She hates the doctor though. But I can understand… what child likes going someplace where all they do is poke and prod you and give you shots? Our pediatrician is wonderful and patient, thank goodness. She gave Addy a sticker, which calmed her down for about 3 seconds, but as soon as Addy saw the stethoscope coming her way, the crying and wiggling started again. It’s tough being a kid. I think Adelyn knew what was coming at the end of the visit – 3 more immunizations. She’s a big girl though and it was over super fast. So now, no more shots until she’s 4 years old! Woo hoo! Oh wait, we’ll be starting over with P-Squared…

Speaking of P-squared, I had an appointment on Monday and got to meet our OB for the first time (Derek and Addy stayed home this time around). I also got to hear P-squared’s heartbeat, so that was very exciting!! (152 bpm). Everything looked great and our next appointment isn’t for another 4 weeks… I’m sure lots of pregnancy-related things will be happening between now and then. We looked back at the journal I kept when we were expecting Addy, and by 17 weeks, I had already felt Addy kick! Not to mention I was wearing maternity pants thanks to a developing baby bump (which I think will “pop” sooner this time around… I swear, I’ve got a ton of bloat and feel ginormous by the end of the day right now. Plus, I’ve heard the belly pops sooner with subsequent children… true? We shall see.)

Anyway, those are the latest updates over here! I’m working on several Christmas posts that will be up over the next few days, so prepare yourselves for a slew of pics. Until then, here are a few of our little Christmas elf 🙂

Admiring herself in the hall mirror. She just loves her hat!

Adelyn is 18 months and 3 weeks old, and I am 12 weeks and 5 days pregnant.

Leave a Reply

