Let’s talk about a classic childhood toy:

Play dough.

Wasn’t play dough the greatest?? The smell of it, the smushiness of it. I mean, it’s really just a great experience.

My Mom and I were chatting this morning about ways to entertain Addy, and she reminded me that she used to make homemade play dough for me and my sisters to play with. I had completely forgotten! The 5-10 mins it took for Mom to make the dough were always so exciting. What colors should we use? What fantastic creations would we make that day?

So Mom sent me the recipe, and I whipped up a batch for Addy. She’s still a bit young to fully appreciate the awesomeness that is play dough, but we figured she could at least poke at it. Addy was wary at first because of the odd texture, but soon dug her spoons into it.

She's so delicate.

Good fun!

Wondering what to make...

Mixing colors is fun!

Sweet girl

smashing

The face says it all - we like play dough!!!

For some reason I’m having trouble inserting videos, but click here to see Addy playing with the play dough.

Of course, being the curious 14 month old that she is, Addy did stick a bit of the dough in her mouth. The nice thing about this homemade play dough is that I know exactly what goes into it (dry baking goods), so I felt okay letting Addy sample it (Please note, this does not mean that I let her eat it). The grimace on her face and the speed at which she ejected the dough told me that she won’t be making a meal of the play dough anytime soon.

So for those who are interested, here’s the recipe! Enjoy!

Homemade Play Dough
1 cup flour
1/4 cup salt
2 tbsp. cream of tartar
1 cup of water
1 tbsp oil

Combine dry ingredients. Stir in water and oil. Cook over medium heat, stirring frequently (3-5 mins). It will transform from liquid to putty, and when it pulls away from the sides of the pot and forms a ball, turn out and knead on a lightly floured surface (Caution! Play dough will be hot!). Add food coloring to make the play dough extra fun. Store in air tight container.

Adelyn is 14 months and 2 weeks old.

One response

  1. Pingback: Monthly Update – 15 months « Our Little Blessing

Leave a Reply

